Famous Last Words

Dear Lucy , it seems to me to be the will of God, that I must shortly leave you; therefore give my kindest love to my dear wife, and tell her that the uncommon union which as so long subsisted between us, has been of such a nature,as I trust is spiritual, and therefore will continue for ever.  And I hope she will be supported under so great a trial and submit cheerfully to the will of God.  And as to my children, you are now like to be left fatherless, which I hope will be an inducement to you all to seek a Father who will never fail you…Now, where is Jesus of Nazareth, my true and never-failing friend? Trust in God, and you need not fear.

-Jonathan Edwards

Share Your Thoughts

