Commentaries I use: Matthew

I have acquired a decent amount of books over the year while studying the scriptures and also different theology found in the pages of scripture. Commentaries on the books of the bible have been essential to my study of scripture. The Spirit of God has been blessing us through different authors and I have grown tremendously through such volumes. I have been thankful to have been able to have had individuals recommend different commentaries to me and I thought, in return, that perhaps I could share some recommendations for you. Needless to say I certainly welcome your input and recommendations.

In my studies of the Gospel of Matthew, I have come across several different commentaries that I have found useful. My theology has changed quite extensively over the years especially in regards to my hermeneutic in regards to interpreting eschatological passages. I used to hold to a form of dispensational theology but now I have moved on to hold to a form of Covenant Theology. With that said, today I use two main commentaries on the book of Matthew:

This commentary from the Expositor’s Bible Commentary series written by D.A. Carson is probably the best I’ve seen to date. It is produced in a two-volume set and runs at about 900 pages between the two books. I have enjoyed many of Carson’s writings but his commentaries are generally his strongest productions. There are good introductions to the historical setting of Matthew, the textual data, arguments for Matthean authorship and much more. I appreciate Carson’s ability to not only give the meaning of a text but also to address counter-arguments to his position. Carson has a good understanding of the greek language and quotes a multitude of scripture to prove his points. This is a must have for any serious student who is going to wrestle through this beautiful gospel.

Another commentary that I use but a little less frequently is The Gospel According to Matthew by Leon Morris which was produced by my favorite commentary series; The Pillar New Testament Commentaries. Morris spends a total of 780 pages going through the passages in Matthew. I find Morris’ presentation of the texts clear and scholarly. Much like Carson, Morris deals with the critical and liberal scholarship of our day but does so with Pastoral care. I would even say that this commentary is more “readable” than Carsons and for a person who doesn’t want too much greek and theological terminology that this commentary is just what you’re looking for.

Share Your Thoughts

