The “Burn the Qu’ran” Pastor is Going To Get Burned

I had a difficult time believing my eyes when I saw this news article. It seems Pastor Terry Jones, who we all know from the “burn the Qu’ran day” fiasco,  will be debating an Imam from Toronto by the name of Steve Rockwell. Granted that I’m not completely familiar with Pastor Jones, I was able to find some information on his theological training online and I’m tremendously concerned. I’m not convinced that Pastor Jones really knows what he’s getting himself into. I cannot find any information on previous debates that he has done hence I have to conclude that this is his first public debate. The debate topic is based upon the recent film “The Innocense of Muslims” which caused an uproar throughout the Middle East. There are far more important topics that need to be discussed between Muslims and Christians in a public setting and this film is not a priority. This debate is nothing more than an attempt to get people stirred up and for public display. I pray that this debate doesn’t take place and that Pastor Jones will find more biblical ways to “evangelize” Muslims and keep Sharia Law out of North America.

There are those who have experience in debating Muslims that are having far more productive dialogues in order to share the gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ and the truth of Christianity to them. I feel that these men will give a far better argument for the faith than what Pastor Jones can ever imagine. I would recommend this website if you would like to see debates conducted with respect and integrity for both sides. The Gospel of Jesus Christ is the only means by which can bring nations together and not ignorant attacks on a faith.

Share Your Thoughts

