Some Exciting New Releases

51CTv3RNFyLI believe that anyone who reads this website realizes that I have a passion for books, reading and learning about the things of God from people who have spent some real time pondering a particular biblical subject. I would love to have the time to spend reading more than I already do however with a family that is not always the case.

I am looking forward to some books that are going to be released in the not too distant future that I thought would be worth mentioning. Of course I have yet to actually read these books hence I would approach my recommendations with caution. With that said, none of these authors have disappointed in the past and so I’m sure these releases are at least worthy of a mention.

cover27901-mediumThe first book that is on my list is one that I just found out today that it was going to be available. It is called Kingdom Come: The Amillennial Alternative by Sam Storms. Dr. Storms is a very articulate writer and an expert in my mind in eschatology. I’ve honestly been hoping for quite some time that he would release a volume on the matter of amiillennialism and it was a treat to see that he finally is publishing something. It’s a pretty good size books also at 560 pages so I’m sure we’ll get our bang for our buck. The release date for this book is May 1, 2013.

The other books that I’m looking forward to is James White’s book “What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur’an” published by Bethany House Publishers. Dr. White has been studying and debating the topic of Islam for a few years now and I believe this book will be tremendously useful for people who are in the midst of discussions with Muslims. This books will also be available on May 1,2013 and looks like it’s going to be approximately 320 pages in length.

41ubTH0mzXL__SL500_AA300_One final volume that I’ve been waiting for is a commentary by one of my favorite exegetes, Douglas Moo from Wheaton College. If you’ve read Moo’s commentaries on Romans and James, you can appreciate my excitement to see this one finally being published. The commentary is from Baker Exegetical Commentaries of the New Testament series on the epistle to the Galatians. I have been waiting for this commentary for over two years now along with D.A. Carson’s commentary on the same epistle. The commentary looks to be at 850 pages in length and it should be released in July of this year.

I’m sure not everyone gets excited like I do about these types of books so maybe I’ll post something in the future when Joel Osteen is coming out with a new exegetical book on eschatology and Islam.

Share Your Thoughts

